At His Feet

JesusSavesMagdalen[1]

Opportunities abound today to fall at His feet.

I have been pressed into service on the floor of my home. Disc pain. Cannot move fast, cannot serve. I must relinquish control. Determined to still demand it, and at least get out to daily mass, I find my husband has accidentally taken my car keys to work. And winter has been relentless here in the northeast. Another 8-12 inches today and confinement to the indoors. Greed for my own will floods my heart and an unwillingness to bend ( no pun intended) is my own interior storm. And so, I will go the way of so many men and women of Scripture.

The Syrophoenician woman fell at His feet to beg for the healing for her daughter. ( Mark 7: 25)

Martha’s sister sat beside Him at His feet, listening to Him (Luke 10:39)

“One of the synagogue officials, named Jairus, came forward. Seeing him he fell at His feet.” ( Mark 5: 22)

“Great crowds came to him, having with them the lame, the blind, the deformed, the mute, and many others. They placed them at his feet, and he cured them.” (Matthew 15:30)

The woman bleeding for 12 years, realizing what had happened to her, “approached in fear and trembling. She fell down before Jesus and told him the whole truth.” ( Mark 5: 23)

And perhaps my most perfect example of submission in faith….His Mother, who stood at His feet.  Yes, the first one not to fall, but to stand.  This time it seemed He needed the healing….feet pierced through with the nails and covered with blood.  She stands there at His feet. (John 19:25) Kisses them perhaps.  Remains there with Him as if her feet were also stayed to the ground beneath her, keeping her from falling.  It was her will and her love that caused her to remain there … co-sharer of the great sacrifice for souls….at His feet.

And that is where He finds me, on the floor and at His feet.

There is nothing to the faithful, that Providence does not turn out for the good for those with resigned and submissive wills. My pain has brought me here.  I am taught to distrust myself and to abandon.  Here, demons will flee, I can listen attentively to Him speaking to me, I can feel hemorrhaging wounds being healed. And if I dare, I can kiss the cross in spiritual union with my Mother.

One thought on “At His Feet

Leave a Reply

