Taking on the Mind of Christ

Blog Mary Pic

Sometimes I get so weary of thinking, planning, prioritizing.  Then St Paul has something to say to me.

He tells me that Christ is the Head of my Body ( I am part of the Church’s body ,Col 1:18), and that I can take on more and more the mind of Christ.(1 Cor 2:16)

What if I gave over my thinking, my mind, at least periodically, and let Christ think for me?

That’s prayer.  That’s humility.  Your thoughts are so far above my thoughts Lord.  (Isaiah 55:9)

Could it be you have something better for me to be intellectualizing about?

So then I try it.  I try to go blank.  It’s kind of restful.  I stop trying so hard.  

Sure, I battle it.  But Lord, if I don’t make this decision now, all will be lost!  Lord, if I don’t figure this out now, things won’t work out for me!

I, I, I, me,me,me….Hmmmm…maybe there is another way.

Called submission. To a God who I believe loves me and want to help me.  Called trust. In a loving Father who might know a thing or two about what’s best for me.

Can I give over my head to THE HEAD?  That head that thinks, reasons, wills, decides, and even controls most of my bodily actions?

What if, from time to time today, we gave over our minds to Christ?  We let Him think for us, we let Him guide our decisions, we let Him tell our bodies what to do next?

Lord, give me the grace to trust You enough, to give you my mind today.  I will let you guide my thoughts and my actions.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

